Latest News

RCB fan Manoj Nayak gets tattoo of entire women’s squad players names to celebrate their win

Know why Odisha resident and RCB fan Manoj Nayak inked the name of all Royal Challengers Bangalore women’s squad after the Women’s Premier League 2024 with his tattoo now viral

Recently, a passionate Royal Challengers Bengaluru fan celebrated the team’s first-ever Women’s Premier League title victory by getting tattoos of each player’s name from the winning RCB Women’s team on his hand. Manoj Nayak, a devoted supporter from Bhubaneswar, Odisha, fulfilled a promise he made by tattooing the names of all RCB players after their thrilling eight-run win against Delhi Capitals in the WPL 2024 final.

RCB fan Manoj Nayak gets tattoo of entire women’s teams squad players names to celebrate their win in 2024

Why Manoj Nayak tattooed the name of RCB Women’s team squad?

Many fans have stood by Royal Challengers Bengaluru (RCB) through thick and thin, but for devoted fan Manoj Nayak, it goes beyond mere support. He recently caught attention for fulfilling a unique pledge. Following the victory of RCB women, led by Smriti Mandhana, in the WPL 2024, he tattooed the names of all squad members who contributed to RCB’s title win in the WPL 2024.

While Manoj’s allegiance is undoubtedly with RCB, his tattoo pays homage to the WPL champions, underscoring the immense popularity the second season garnered throughout India. The prestigious tournament captured numerous memorable moments, akin to the well-established IPL, reflecting the overall growth of cricket in the country.

How did RCB win the 2024 Women’s Premier League?

While the men’s IPL team had faced disappointment in three finals, RCB’s women’s team brought an end to the franchise’s trophy drought by clinching the WPL title in its second season. During the celebrations, the Bengaluru men’s team at RCB Unbox in M Chinnaswamy Stadium honored the victorious women’s team with a guard of honor, a gesture inspired by RCB legend Virat Kohli, as stated by pace bowler Kate Cross.

In the WPL 2024 final on March 17, 2024, at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in New Delhi, Smriti Mandhana’s RCB faced off against Meg Lanning’s Delhi Capitals. Despite DC opting to bat first, they managed only 113 runs, despite a promising start. RCB’s spin trio of Asha Sobhana, Shreyanka Patil, and Sophie Molineux claimed nine wickets, turning the match in their favor.

In response, RCB’s batters, led by Mandhana, Sophie Devine, and Ellyse Perry, comfortably chased down the target of 114 runs, securing victory with eight wickets in hand. This triumph marked RCB Women’s team’s first-ever trophy win and ended a 16-year drought for the franchise.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button