Latest News

Climate Parliament Bangladesh newly elected committee announced – 2024-04-03 12:12:27

Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chowdhury said, Climate Parliament is playing an important role in dealing with the environmental risks caused by climate change. They are currently working in 74 countries of the world.

He said these things in the speech of the chief guest of the program organized on the occasion of the announcement of the newly elected committee of Climate Parliament Bangladesh at the Sheraton Hotel in Bananisth of the capital on Monday (April 1).

He also said that the interest of the Climate Parliament is to be able to move people spontaneously to protect the environment.

President of Climate Parliament Bangladesh Tanveer Shakeel gave a welcome speech at the event. He then announced the name of the new committee. Convenor of Climate Parliament Bangladesh Nahim Razzak MP, Chief Patron of Climate Parliament Environment, Forest and Climate Change Minister Saber Hossain Chowdhury delivered a speech.

Besides, Sumedha Basu, Policy Advisor of Climate Parliament of South Asia Secretariat, Nick Dunlop, Founder and Chief Strategy Officer of Climate Parliament gave a virtual speech.

Speaker said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has been given the UN’s highest environmental award ‘Champions of the Earth’ for her significant contribution to environmental protection.

He also said that the Prime Minister has implemented the necessary laws and policies including the Mujib Climate Prosperity Plan, Delta Plan to protect the environment.

Referring to the river pollution in Bangladesh, he said that the local people have to play a role in creating awareness to keep the river flowing near the house free of pollution.

He also said that climate resilient agriculture, organic farming and green entrepreneurship should be introduced to deal with environmental risks. Everyone must work together to save the world from disaster. Although the members of the Climate Parliament are all members of Parliament, it has no partnership with the National Parliament. The National Parliament is ready to work in partnership with the Climate Parliament and provide all forms of cooperation. He congratulated the newly formed committee.

Minister of State for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid, former Minister of State for Foreign Affairs Shahriar Alam, Ambassador of the European Union (EU) Charles Whiteley and Ambassador of France Marie Masdupuy, Arma Dutt (MP), Abul Kalam Azad (MP), Ashek Ullah Rafique (MP), SM Shahzada (MP), Amatul Kibria Kaya Chowdhury (MP), Nizam Uddin Jalil John (MP), Habibur Rahman (MP), Mahbub ur Rahman Ruhel (MP), Kohli Quddus Mukti (MP), Zara Jabin Mahbubsah (MP) Ambassadors of Denmark, Switzerland, Singapore and Nepal, members of Climate Parliament, Members of Parliament, Climate Partners of different countries, representatives of NGOs, invited guests and senior officials of Parliament Secretariat were present on the occasion.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button