Latest News

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024 men’s and women’s format, teams and venue

Here is all you need to know about Bengal Pro T20 including its format, venue, squad and more 

Bengal will soon have its own regional cricket league, called Bengal Pro T20. It would be modelled after the Indian Premier League and open only to state-based players, the Cricket Association of Bengal said on Tuesday.

A regional T20 tournament was held by the CAB in 2020–21, however it had to be discontinued after just one season due to lack of interest. In an attempt to attract IPL spotters, several states have since started their own T20 competitions.

Bengal Pro T20 League 2024 men’s and women’s format, teams, players and venue

There are now over a dozen regional Twenty20 leagues in India; the most well-known is Tamil Nadu’s TNPL, while the oldest is Karnataka’s KPL (Maharaja Trophy T20).

Snehasish Ganguly, head of the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB), stated that the “Bengal Pro T20” will emulate the IPL in terms of format and rules of play, but no “outstation cricketers” or “coaches from outside the state will be allowed.”

There will be eight men’s and women’s teams participating in the 21-day first season which will be held in June.

When and where will the Bengal Pro T20 be held?

The tournament is all set to be held in June of this year. Eden Gardens will host the men’s league, and Salt Lake’s Jadavpur University Second Campus will hold the women’s competitions.

Bengal Pro T20 teams

There will be eight men’s and women’s teams however, the names are yet to be announced. The CAB president stated:

All the eight teams will be franchises-owned, which will be a first (in regional T20 leagues). We have still not finalised the franchises, which will be announced at a later date.

He further said:

The teams will be completely owned by franchises and all players will be paid as per the salary cap. CAB will not incur any expense for the league.”

According to information obtained, as per MyKhel, the CAB is in negotiations to acquire the eight franchises with the following owners: Rashmi Cement, Bandhan Bank, RP-Sanjiv Goenka Group (Lucknow Super Giants), Kolkata Knight Riders, and Shrachi Group.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button