Latest News

List of players with the most ducks in the IPL and what is the meaning of a duck

Rohit Sharma was dismissed for a duck courtesy of an impeccable delivery by Trent Boult during the IPL 2024 clash between MI vs RR to top the list of the most ducks in IPL history

It was just the first over of the game at Wankhede Stadium when Rohit Sharma edged one to the wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, off the bowling of Trent Boult during the MI vs RR clash in IPL 2024. 

While the match between MI vs RR unfolded with its usual fervor, this moment marked a significant milestone, albeit an unwanted one, in Rohit Sharma’s illustrious IPL career. His name now sits at the top of the list alongside Dinesh Karthik, two veterans of the game, each with 17 ducks to their name.

List of players with the most number of ducks in the IPL and what is the meaning of a duck 

A duck means scoring 0 in a match while a golden duck means getting out on the first ball a batsman faces without opening his account.

But Rohit Sharma’s inclusion in this list isn’t the company he might have wished for. The other names on the list include seasoned players like Piyush Chawla, Mandeep Singh, Sunil Narine, and Glenn Maxwell, all of whom have encountered the infamous duck more times than they would care to admit – 15 times each, to be precise.

The dynamics of cricket can be unforgiving, even to the best in the game, as evidenced by Rohit Sharma’s momentary lapse resulting in a duck, his 17th in the IPL. Yet, despite this blemish on his record, Rohit’s stature as a cricketer remains unscathed.

Indeed, Rohit Sharma’s inclusion in the list of most ducks in IPL history serves as a reminder of the fine margins that separate success from failure in cricket. It is a testament to the sport’s ability to humble even the most accomplished players, reminding them that greatness is often accompanied by moments of adversity.

Here is the full list of players with the most ducks in IPL:

Rohit Sharma – 17

Dinesh Karthik – 17

Piyush Chawla – 15

Mandeep Singh – 15

Sunil Narine – 15

Glenn Maxwell – 15

As Rohit Sharma gears up to lead Mumbai Indians in the remainder of the IPL season, this milestone serves as a poignant reminder of the challenges that lie ahead. Yet, knowing Rohit’s resilience and determination, it’s safe to say that this momentary setback will only fuel his determination to bounce back stronger, proving once again why he is regarded as one of the finest cricketers of his generation.

ALSO READ: Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024 cheerleaders salary list per match

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button